Previous committee members


Graham McKinnon

Graham McKinnon

Committee member 2006–2016

Graham has worked with On-street Compliance Services (formerly Parking and Traffic Branch) City of Melbourne for over 30 years. Prior to his current position he was Team Leader Enforcement Services, where he was responsible for the enforcement operations and the management of 110 officers. Graham spent 20 years on the road as a Parking Officer and Team Leader. Graham has 11 years’ experience working in the hospitality industry commencing in 1968. He commenced as a porter and waiter, spent 12 months in the kitchen, had vast experience in cellar and store management before moving to various management positions within the industry. He spent time in Port Moresby, Cairns, Perth and Esperance (WA); all in hospitality.

After returning from WA at the end of 1978 he taught ballroom dancing, fulltime, for two and a half years where he met his wife of 32 years. In 1981 he purchased a sandwich bar and operated that business until he joined City of Melbourne on the 29 April 1985.

Graham has conducted training sessions and programs for Parking and Authorised Officers at Swinburne University, RMIT and Chisholm Institute in Victoria, and currently conducts training for Authorised Officers (Parking and Local Laws) with the City of Melbourne. He has also conducted Authorised Parking Officer training for numerous Victorian Councils and Enforcement Agencies including Connex (now Metro), Port of Melbourne Corporation, Melbourne Airport, Melbourne University and Kangan Institute. In the last few years he has conducted training with Launceston and 4 other Tasmanian Councils in ‘Service Excellence and Managing Conflict’.

Apart from his role as Victorian Committee Member, on the ANPSG, he is a co-founder and current coordinator of the Victorian Council Compliance Services (formerly Victorian Parking Steering Group – VPSG) annual workshop.

New South Wales

Leon Marskell

Leon Marskell

Committee member 2007–2016

Leon Marskell has worked in the NSW Local Government Sector for almost 25 years. During this time he has worked from the ground roots up as an Enforcement Officer to, at times, Acting Group Manager, where he has had enormous exposure to dealing with an emphasis on Local Government Compliance and Enforcement.

Leon’s career has been very rewarding and has enabled him to work in a number of Metropolitan and Rural Councils across NSW. Leon is currently the Manager of Regulatory Services for the City of Ryde, a position he has held for the past 8.5 years. He continues to actively be involved in the push for uniformity within Local Government Enforcement, particularly in the area of Parking Enforcement. Leon continues to be an active member in several industry groups, including the Australian Local Government Rangers Institute, NSW Local Government Taskforce on Safety – Rangers & Parking Patrol Officers, and USU Rangers & Parking Patrol Officer Reference Group.

His list of achievements include being awarded the 2009 ANPSG Industry Excellence Award in Melbourne, as well as being awarded the Australian Local Government Rangers Institute – Long Service Award 20 year.

Western Australia

Dennis Stevens

Dennis Stevens

Dennis Stevens is an experienced Local Government Manager having held senior management positions in Victoria, Tasmania and now Western Australia in a career spanning over 40 years. He has studied community participation models in local government in the UK and the USA, funded by travelling scholarships, produced and implemented an innovative model of local participation through the introduction of Local Neighbourhood Advisory Groups and presented a paper on this model at an International Union of Local Authorities (IULA) conference.

Dennis commenced with the City of Perth in 2000 as Manager Compliance Services. The position involves management of over 100 staff responsible for On Street Parking, Safety and Security and Environmental Health functions. Prior to commencing with the City of Perth, Dennis held the position of General Manager of the Derwent Valley Council in Tasmania, Chief Executive Officer of the former Shire of Sherbrooke in Victoria, Shire Secretary/Director Management of the former Shire of Narracan in Victoria and Assistant Town Clerk of the former City of Moe in Victoria.